Reviews & Rating

RatingReviewDate


Martin Shields
Professional yet personable
Really practical knowledge and insight shared which I was immediately able to apply to forecasting the next week. Professional yet personable: all questions were answered and plenty of info and resources shared to improve chances of picking the good days! Many thanks!
Reviewed 30/4/18


Graham Smith
Aviation Weather Pt 1
Really practical knowledge and insight shared which I was immediately able to apply to forecasting the next week. Professional yet personable: all queastions were answered and plenty of info and resources shared to improve chances of picking the good days! Many thanks!
Reviewed 22/4/2018


Galea
Fantastic course - Simon’s enthusiasm and knowledge is incredible

Simon is absolutely passionate about the subject and just as importantly is able to communicate his broad knowledge of weather extremely effectively, bringing the subject to life. Very glad I attended the course and builds on top of the ppl considerably, giving more confidence, knowledge and techniques to plan suitable flying days and cross-countries. Thoroughly recommended and am looking forward to attending part 2.
Reviewed 21/4/2018


Ranjan Patwardhan
i don’t think of how it might be…

i don’t think of how it might be improved upon really Amazing how much the nppl syllabus leaves out Simon is a talented and forthcoming teacher
Reviewed 21/4/18


DS3
An information-packed day which really…

An information-packed day which really helped me with the interpretation of synoptic charts and whetted my appetite for more detail
Reviewed 25/3/2018


Phil Strangward
Aviation Weather School

I have attended both Weather School Part 1 & 2. Doctor Simon Keeling teaches weather forecasting in an informal and easy to understand format and makes the whole day very enjoyable and interesting. The class size is just right which allows everybody to participate and ask questions. I believe this course is essential to all pilots to really understand and forecast the weather.
Reviewed 25/3/2018


Mervyn white
Have attended both aviation parts one…

I have attended both aviation parts one and two and enjoyed every minute. Already the knowledge I have learnt has helped me plan flights AND given me the confidence to fly in what was said to be IFR but turned out to be VFR after all, gaining extra enjoyment from my hobby ! Simon, Kate and Simon's dad all made the two days a dream to attend, the course was pitched at the right level and the food and hospitality was second to none. I now feel very much part of the Weather School family . Have already recommended to flying buddies and will continue to do so.
Reviewed 25/3/2018


Nick
Perfect!

What a great course! Outstanding and pertinent content delivered perfectly. Many thanks Simon !
Reviewed 25/3/2018


Judy Swan
Really interesting day

Really interesting day; not sure how much of it I will retain but I understand a lot more about how to use weather charts and the different types of winds around the U.K. Also good info about weather sites, fronts and pressure systems. Simon is very engaging. Definitely going to practice over the next few days to consolidate what we learned.
Reviewed 18/3/18


Phil
Aviation Weather Part 1

A very informative and lively day of learning. The level is pitched such that a quick revision of PPL Met might help with the speedy pace of content delivery. There is a lot of information but all fascinating and very relevant to PPL aviation. As the classes are small, Simon was able to bring in relevant aspects of Met to each of the attendees personal flying activities. Looking forward to Part 2. Lunch was a very decent buffet as well
Reviewed 14/3/2018


Ian F
Nothing to fault

Nothing to fault - a very well worthwhile day.
Reviewed 12/3/2018


Dave Colgate
Host, location and course very good

Simon was excellent from beginning to end. Very welcoming and helped a great deal before getting there with finding car parking. I drove for over 4 hours to get to weather school to the slick process was great. The location is quaint, suitable for a nice small class of 5 with all the facilities and amenities required. Simon's Dad was lovely and kept the coffee, biscuits and sweets flowing! The day was interspersed with adequate breaks and a very good lunch with a great buffet spread. There was lots of food! The material was excellent. Part 1 was like going through the PPL material but in more depth and making it much more relevant specifically to aviation and airmanship. That was the biggest take-away for me from the day. The theory was very good, but it was the aviation-related tips that I found most useful and there are plenty to apply. I came away feeling much more confident and capable of being able to interpret analysis charts alongside doing more forecasting of my own. I have, of course, signed up for Part 2 of the course. Recommended.
Reviewed 11/3/2018


Dek
Great course!

Great course. Loads of fun and informative
Reviewed 11/3/2018


Robert
Simon produces an ideal learning …

Simon produces an ideal learning environment. You come away knowing that you can do it.
Reviewed 4/2/2018


Matthew Wallis
This course was both enjoyable and …

This course was both enjoyable and extremely useful . All PPL pilots should attend this.
Reviewed 3/2/2018